Wednesday, 5 December 2012

2012 Architect of the Year Awards Announced

The 2012 Architect of the Year Awards, organised by Building Design, were announced at a ceremony held in London on 4 December 2012. Launched in 2004, the Architect of the Year Awards reward UK architectural practices responsible for the best overall body of work in 12 different sectors. The winners were:

Architect of the Year:
Alison Brooks Architects

Alison Brooks Architects’ Newhall housing in Harlow, Essex

Runners up:

  • Duggan Morris Architects
  • Fat
  • Glenn Howells Architects
  • Maccreanor Lavington
  • Rogers Stirk Harbour

International Breakthrough Architect of the Year:
Hugh Broughton Architects

Hugh Broughton’s Halley VI in Antarctica

Runners up:

  • DRDH Architects
  • Groundlab
  • Mangera Yvars Architects
  • Sergison Bates Architects
  • Serie Architects

Interior Architect of the Year:
Witherford Watson Mann Architects

Witherford Watson Mann’s refurbishment of the Barbican’s Cromwell Tower

Runners up:

  • BuckleyGrayYeoman
  • Dexter Moren Associates
  • Jestico & Whiles
  • Stiff & Trevillion
  • Universal Design Studio

Education Architect of the Year (sixth form to university):
Reiach & Hall Architects

Reiach & Hall’s Stirling campus for Forth Valley College

Runners up:

  • Duggan Morris Architects
  • Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
  • Glenn Howells Architects
  • Levitt Bernstein Associates
  • Wilkinson Eyre Architects

Education Architect of the Year (Nursery to Secondary):
Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

The full-height atrium of AHMM's Dagenham Park Church of England secondary school

Runners up:

  • Architype
  • Jestico & Whiles
  • Mitchell Taylor Workshop
  • ORMS Architecture Design
  • Sheppard Robson

Public Building Architect of the Year:
Adam Khan Architects

Adam Khan Architects’ New Horizon youth centre in King’s Cross

Runners up:

  • CZWG Architects
  • Hall McKnight
  • John McAslan & Partners
  • Keith Williams Architects
  • Studio Egret West

Public Realm Architect of the Year:
Adams & Sutherland

Adams & Sutherland’s upgrading of east London’s Greenway

Runners up:

  • East Architecture, Landscape, Urban Design
  • LDA Design
  • Studio Egret West
  • What If: Projects
  • Witherford Watson Mann Architects

Sports & Entertainment Architect of the Year:
Stanton Williams

Stanton Williams’ Hackney Marshes Centre

Runners up:

  • Allies & Morrison
  • David Morley Architects
  • FaulknerBrowns Architects
  • KSS Design Group
  • Pringle Richards Sharratt

Office Architect of the Year:
Reiach & Hall Architects

Reiach Hall Architects’ Dundee Council Offices

Runners up:

  • Allies & Morrison
  • EPR Architects
  • ORMS Architecture Design
  • Project Orange
  • Squire & Partners

Masterplanning Architect of the Year:
5th Studio

5th Studio’s Lea River Park

Runners up:

  • Allies & Morrison
  • Karakusevic Carson
  • Maccreanor Lavington
  • Peter Barber Architects
  • Studio Egret West

Environmental Excellence Award:
Civic Architects

Civic Architects’ Gamlingay Eco Hub

Runners up:

  • +3 Architecture
  • Aedas Architects
  • Architype
  • Pascall & Watson Architects
  • Pringle Brandon Perkins & Will

Refurbishment Architect of the Year:
Witherford Watson Mann Architects

Astley Castle by Witherford Watson Mann

Runners up:

  • Allies & Morrison
  • David Kohn Architects
  • Donald Insall Associates
  • Hawkins Brown
  • ZMMA

Small Project Architect of the Year:
Coffey Architects

BFI Library by Coffey Architects

Runners up:

  • Ashton Porter Architects
  • Carl Turner Architects
  • Featherstone Young
  • Paul Archer Design
  • Simon Conder Associates

For more information about the awards, visit

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.