Monday, 14 January 2013

Designs of the Year 2013 Shortlist Announced

The Design Museum in London announced today the contenders for the sixth annual Designs of the Year, which are awarded to the best international design output across seven categories: Architecture, Digital, Fashion, Furniture, Graphics, Product and Transport. The 90 nominations will be on display in an exhibition at the Design Museum between 20 March and 7 July 2013 and the winners will be announced in April.

The shortlist for the 2013 Designs of the Year is as follows:


  • La Tour Bois-Le-Pretre, Paris - Designed by Druot, Lacaton and Vassal
  • Clapham Library, London - Designed by Studio Egret West
  • MOCA (Museum of Contemporary Art), Cleveland - Designed by Farshid Moussavi Architects
  • Metropolitan Arts Centre, Belfast - Designed by Hackett Hall McKnight
  • A Room For London - Designed by David Kohn Architects in collaboration with artist Fiona Banner
  • Kukje Art Center, Seoul - Designed by SO-IL
  • Ikea Disobedients - Designed by Andrés Jaque Arquitectos
  • Book Mountain, Spijkenisse - Designed by MVRDV
  • The Shard, London - Designed by Renzo Piano
  • Thalia Theatre, Lisbon - Designed by Gonçalo Byrne Arquitectos & Barbas Lopes Arquitectos
  • Astley Castle, Warwickshire - Designed by Witherford Watson Mann
  • Museum Of Innocence, Istanbul - Designed by Orhan Pamuk with Ihsan Bilgin, Cem Yucel and Gregor Sunder Plassmann
  • Home For All - Designed by Akihisa Hirata, Sou Fujimoto, Kumiko Inui and Toyo Ito
  • T-Site, Tokyo - Designed by Klein Dytham
  • Galaxy Soho, Beijing - Designed by Zaha Hadid
  • Superkilen, Nørrebro - Designed by BIG, TOPOTEK1 and Superflex
  • Four Freedoms Park, New York – Designed by Louis Kahn

The Shard, London - Designed by Renzo Piano


  • Rain Room - Designed by Random International
  • Superstitious Fund Project - Designed by Shing Tat Chung
  • Raspberry Pi Computer - Designed by Eben Upton
  • English Hedgerow Plate - Designed by Andrew Tanner and Unanico for Royal Winton
  • Digital Postcard And Player - Designed by Uniform
  • Windows Phone 8 - Designed by Microsoft
  • Website – Designed by Government Digital Service
  • Zombies, Run! App – Designed by Six to Start
  • Free Universal Construction Kit - Designed by Free Art and Technology Lab
  • Wind Map - Designed by Martin Wattenberg and Fernanda Bertini Viegas
  • Candles In The Wind - Designed by Moritz Waldemeyer for Ingo Maurer
  • Chirp - Designed by Patrick Bergel
  • Dashilar App – Designed by Nippon Design Centre Inc.
  • City Tracking pt2 – Designed by Stamen
  • Light Field Camera - Designed by Lytro

Digital Postcard and Player - Designed by Uniform


  • Anna Karenina Costumes - Designed by Jacqueline Durran
  • A/W12 Womenswear - Designed by Giles Deacon
  • Louis Vuitton Collection - Designed by Yayoi Kusama
  • Diana Vreeland: The Eye Has To Travel - Directed by Lisa Immordino
  • I Want Muscle - Directed by Elisha Smith-Leverock
  • A/W12 Collection - Designed by Craig Green
  • Commes De Garcons RTW A/W12 - Designed by Rei Kawakubo
  • Christian Dior RTW S/S13 - Designed by Raf Simons
  • Prada S/S12 RTW Collection - Designed by Miuccia Prada
  • Proenza Schouler A/W12 Collection - Designed by Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough

A/W12 Collection - Designed by Craig Green


  • The Sea Chair - Designed by Studio Swine & Kieren Jones
  • Liquid Glacial Table - Designed by Zaha Hadid
  • A-Collection - Designed by Ronan and Erwan Bourellec for Hay
  • Gravity Stool - Designed by Jolan Van Der Wiel
  • Well Proven Chair - Designed by James Shaw and Marjan van Aubel
  • Tié Paper Chair - Designed by Pinwu
  • 100 Chairs - Designed by Marni
  • Medici Chair - Designed by Konstantin Grcic for Mattiazzi
  • Re-Imagined Chairs - Designed by Studiomama (Nina Tolstrup and Jack Mama)
  • Engineering Temporality - Designed by Studio Markunpoika
  • Corniches – Designed by Ronan and Erwan Bouroullec for Vitra
  • Future Primitives – Designed by Muller Van Severen

A-Collection - Designed by Ronan and Erwan Bourellec for Hay


  • Zumtobel Annual Report - Designed by Brighten the Corners and Anish Kapoor
  • Bauhaus: Art As Life Exhibition - Designed by A Practice For Everyday Life
  • Strelka Identity - Designed by OK:RM
  • Occupied Times Of London - Designed by Tzortzis Rallis and Lazaros Kakoulidis
  • The Gentlewoman #6 - Designed by Veronica Ditting
  • Austria Solar Annual Report - Designed by Serviceplan
  • Rijksmuseum Identity - Designed by Irma Boom
  • Adam Thirwell: Kapow! - Designed by Studio Frith
  • Organic - Designed by Kapitza
  • Doc Lisboa ’12 - Designed by Pedro Nora
  • Ralph Ellison Collection – Designed by Cordon Webb
  • Venice Architecture Biennale Identity – Designed by John Morgan
  • Dekho: Conversations On Design In India – Designed by CoDesign
  • Made In Los Angeles: Work By Colby Poster Printing Co. – Designed by Anthony Burrill
  • Australian Cigarette Packaging – Commissioned by Australian Government Department for Health and Ageing

The Gentlewoman #6 - Designed by Veronica Ditting


  • Olympic Cauldron - Designed by Heatherwick Studio
  • Bang & Olufsen ‘Beolit 12’ - Designed by Cecile Manz
  • Liquiglide Ketchup Bottle - Designed by Dave Smith/Varanasi Research Group MIT
  • Colour Porcelain - Designed by Scholten & Baijings/1616 Arita Japan
  • E-Source - Designed by Hal Watts
  • Little Printer - Designed by Berg
  • Switch Collection - Designed by Inga Sempe for Legrand
  • Papa Foxtrot Toys - Designed by PostlerFerguson
  • Child Vision Glasses - Designed by The Centre for Vision in the Developing World
  • W127 Lamp - Designed by Dirk Winkel
  • Plug Lamp - Designed by Form Us With Love
  • Replicator 2 - Designed by MakerBot
  • Magic Arms - Designed by duPont Hospital for Children
  • Kiosk 2.0 - Designed by Unfold Studio
  • Oigen Kitchenware - Designed by Jasper Morrison/Japan Creative
  • Tekio - Designed by Anthony Dickens
  • Little Sun - Designed by Olafur Eliasson
  • colalife - Designed by Simon Berry
  • Federic Malle Travel Sprays – Designed by Pierre Hardy
  • Faceture Vases – Designed by Phil Cuttance
  • Surface Tension Lamp – Designed by Front
  • Flyknit Trainers - Designed by Nike

Olympic Cauldron - Designed by Heatherwick Studio


  • Morph Folding Wheel - Designed by Vitamins Design/Maddak Inc.
  • Air Access Seat - Designed by Priestmangoode
  • i3 Concept Car - Designed by BMW
  • Mando Footloose Chainless Bicycle - Designed by Mark Sanders
  • N-One - Designed by Honda
  • Exhibition Road - Designed by Dixon Jones/ The Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea
  • Olympics Wayfaring – Designed by TfL/JEDCO/LOCOG 

Mando Footloose Chainless Bicycle - Designed by Mark Sanders

Images courtesy of the Design Museum


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.