Wednesday, 7 May 2014

2014 National Design Awards Winners Announced

The Smithsonian’s Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum has announced the winners of the 2014 National Design Awards. First launched at the White House in 2000 as a project of the White House Millennium Council, the US National Design Awards recognize excellence and innovation in design across a variety of disciplines, and were established to promote design as a vital humanistic tool in shaping the world. 

The 2014 National Design Award recipients are:
Lifetime Achievement: Ivan Chermayeff and Tom Geismar

Design Mind: Witold Rybczynski

Corporate & Institutional Achievement: Etsy

Architecture Design: Brooks + Scarpa

Fashion Design: Narciso Rodriguez

Interaction Design: Aaron Koblin

Interior Design: Roman and Williams Buildings and Interiors

Landscape Architecture: Andrea Cochran Landscape Architecture

Product Design: LUNAR

The 2014 National Design Awards jury comprised a diverse group of US designers and educators convened by the museum, including: Eric Anderson (associate dean, College of Fine Arts, associate professor, School of Design, co-director, Integrated Innovation Institute, Carnegie Mellon University), Kate Aronowitz (former director of design at Facebook and LinkedIn), Celerie Kemble (principal, Kemble Interiors), Tom Kundig (principal/owner, Olson Kundig Architects), Bruce Mau (co-founder, Massive Change Network), Ivan Poupyrev (technical program lead, executive, Google), Lucinda Sanders (CEO and partner, OLIN), Anna Sui (fashion designer, Anna Sui), and Armin Vit (principal, UnderConsideration LLC). The judges reviewed submissions resulting from nominations submitted by the general public and selected the winners based on the level of excellence, innovation and public impact of their body of work. 

The award recipients will be honoured at a gala dinner on Thursday 9 October 2014, at Pier Sixty in New York, during National Design Week.

Photographs courtesy of National Design Awards

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.