Thursday, 18 December 2014

American Institute of Architects announce winners of 2015 awards

The Board of Directors of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) have this month announced the latest winners of their most prestigious awards.

The Edward C. Kemper Award, given annually to an architect who has contributed significantly to the profession through service to the AIA, went to Edward Mazria for catalysing the architecture community to address climate change through the design of decarbonized, sustainable and resilient built environments.

Edward Mazria

Rural Studio received the 2015 Whitney M. Young Jr. Award in recognition of their student-led design/build projects that address the dire needs of one of the American South’s most underprivileged regions.

Rural Studio

The 2015 Architecture Firm Award, given annually as the AIA’s highest honour to an architecture firm in recognition of consistently producing distinguished architecture for at least 10 years, went to Ehrlich Architects.

Ehrlich Architects

Peter Eisenman was announced the recipient of the 2015 AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion in recognition of a 60-year career devoted to architectural writing, research, and teaching through his long associations with several schools of architecture and Universities, including Cooper Union, Princeton, Harvard, and Yale.

Peter Eisenman

The top prize of the year, the AIA Gold Medal (awarded to an individual whose significant body of work has had a lasting influence on the theory and practice of architecture) was awarded to Moshe Safdie for his “comprehensive and humane approach to designing public and cultural spaces across the world” that have “touched millions of people and influenced generations of younger architects.”

Moshe Safdie

Images courtesy of AIA

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.