Thursday, 18 December 2014

American Institute of Architects announce winners of 2015 awards

The Board of Directors of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) have this month announced the latest winners of their most prestigious awards.

The Edward C. Kemper Award, given annually to an architect who has contributed significantly to the profession through service to the AIA, went to Edward Mazria for catalysing the architecture community to address climate change through the design of decarbonized, sustainable and resilient built environments.

Edward Mazria

Rural Studio received the 2015 Whitney M. Young Jr. Award in recognition of their student-led design/build projects that address the dire needs of one of the American South’s most underprivileged regions.

Rural Studio

The 2015 Architecture Firm Award, given annually as the AIA’s highest honour to an architecture firm in recognition of consistently producing distinguished architecture for at least 10 years, went to Ehrlich Architects.

Ehrlich Architects

Peter Eisenman was announced the recipient of the 2015 AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion in recognition of a 60-year career devoted to architectural writing, research, and teaching through his long associations with several schools of architecture and Universities, including Cooper Union, Princeton, Harvard, and Yale.

Peter Eisenman

The top prize of the year, the AIA Gold Medal (awarded to an individual whose significant body of work has had a lasting influence on the theory and practice of architecture) was awarded to Moshe Safdie for his “comprehensive and humane approach to designing public and cultural spaces across the world” that have “touched millions of people and influenced generations of younger architects.”

Moshe Safdie

Images courtesy of AIA

Sunday, 14 December 2014

Dwayne Wade and Alejandro Ingelmo launch new Way of Wade sneakers

NBA player Dwayne Wade and shoe designer Alejandro Ingelmo have unveiled their latest collaboration, the ‘Third Element’ sneaker collection, during the latest edition of Basel Art Miami Beach.

Available in three colour combinations (iridescent gold/black, black/silver and purple/black), the new sports footwear range is part of the collaboration established between Wade and Chinese group Li Ning, a large company head-quartered in Beijing that also manufactures, develops, markets, distributes and retails sports products under a number of brands.

Images courtesy of Li Ning Company 

Wednesday, 3 December 2014

Winners of the 2014 RIBA President's Medals Student Architecture Awards announced in London

The winners of the 2014 RIBA President’s Medals were announced on 3 December at a ceremony at the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) in central London. The prestigious RIBA President’s Medals, which date back to 1836, reward talent and excellence in the study of architecture, and this year invited nominations from 317 schools of architecture located in 61 countries, the highest number ever in the history of the awards.

RIBA President's Medals

Nick Elias, from the Bartlett School of Architecture (UCL) received the highest design prize of the evening, the RIBA Silver Medal (awarded to the best design project at Part 2 – Diploma/Masters level) for ‘PoohTown’.

RIBA Silver Medal: Nick Elias (Bartlett School of Architecture, UCL) for 'PoohTown'

Simon Dean, from Kingston University, was awarded the Bronze Medal (for best design project at Part 1 – degree level) for ‘Flow, 1944’.

RIBA Bronze Medal: Simon Dean (Kingston University) for 'Flow, 1944'

Jasper Ludewig was awarded the Dissertation Medal for ‘Made Ground: A spatial history of Sydney Park’, submitted by the University of Sydney, Australia.

RIBA Dissertation Medal: Jasper Ludewig (University of Sydney), for ‘Made Ground: A spatial history of Sydney Park’

Other student awards presented at ceremony included:

Silver Medal High Commendation:
Justin Cawley from the University of Sydney for ‘An Ark for Endangered Atmospheres’

Silver Medal Commendations:
Yannis Halkiopoulos from the University of Westminster for ‘Brooklyn Co-operative’
Louis Sullivan from the Bartlett School of Architecture, UCL, for ‘The Living Dam’

'An Ark for Abandoned Atmospheres' by Justin Cawley

Bronze Medal Commendations:
Samuel Little from London Metropolitan University for ‘City Frame: The reappropriation of Maple House’
Emily Priest from the Bartlett School of Architecture, UCL, for ‘Rong Xhan Safehouse’
Ho Yeung Tsang from the University of Hong Kong for ‘Urban Living Transition: Vanishing heritage of Hong Kong residence’

Dissertation Medal High Commendation:
Ekaterina Tikhoniouk from University College Dublin for ‘Towards a Common Ground for Play: Examining the history of play and playgrounds in Dublin’s Liberties’

Dissertation Medal Commendation:
Leon Fenster from the Bartlett School of Architecture, UCL, for ‘Exilic Landscapes: Synagogues and Jewish architectural identity in 1870s Britain’

'The Restored Commonwealth Institute' by Adam Bell

'The Institute  of Concrete Poetry' by Oliver Riviere

Serjeant Awards for Excellence in Drawing:
Part 1: Oliver Riviere from the University of Brighton for ‘The Institute of Concrete Poetry’
Part 2: Adam Bell for the University of Greenwich for ‘The Restored Commonwealth Club’

The UK office of Skidmore, Owings & Merrill (SOM) also awarded the SOM Foundation Fellowships UK, selected from this year’s entries for the RIBA President’s Medals, to Kent Gin from the University of East London for ‘Cultural Perforation of Madrid, Disruption of the Defined’ and Mike Lim from the Royal College of Art, for ‘Untitled, 2014. Mixed Media’.

For more information and to see this year's entries, visit

All images courtesy of the RIBA